Solar System

Stellar Universe
In the beginning of known time, the gods assembled themselves together and determined to create a place for their spirit children to interact with the stuff of the eternities on a level in which they could become proficient in the manipulation of matter and energy. They chose a place where these things were abundant, a place on the Variable String’s ever-changing path that seemed graced by its presence often. They organized all that flowed on the stream left by the string into separate energies and elements and then brought these organized elements together to form the prime material plane. Within this plane, they established groups of combined elements, portals to energy sources, and conduits for the spirits to enter this space. Once they had established this, they coalesced the matter into galaxies of stars. Within these galaxies, they established patterns of stars that would represent their essence and character to what would become the steadfast limitations placed on our mortal selves as to what we would be able to understand of the eternities while in our mortal and material existence. The galaxy in which we dwell is called D’ispelent’ormeid’, though we refer to it as the Starsea. Across our eternal Starsea, the gods established certain stars and groups of stars to represent their ideologies. Thus, we have The Scales of Justice in our southern sky, The Chaoscloud in the northern sky, The Lightbringer in the far north, The Blackwell in the far south, The Hands of Love and the Tyrantscepter above the tropics, and The Spiral of Accord above the equator. That is also why Frostfall, Brightflame, Skyriver, and Crystalstar are found in the heavens. There are many other stars above us, and many of them can be related to these ideological themes in one culture or another, which is the very reason they have been organized thus.

Home Solar System
The gods with whom we are most closely associated established our solar system and built it of parts that are directly tied to their beings. Each of these nearby celestial bodies corresponds to one of the great gods and represents all that they are. Following is a description of the physical arrangement and motion of the heavenly bodies from our perspective as residents of Arat’.

The Suns
There are three solar bodies in our solar system, though only one produces much in the way of light for our world.

Kudanat: The central sun, Kudanat, is comparatively quite tiny, produces a pale pink glow, and follows a tiny orbit around the gravity well anomaly in the center of our solar system, which is referred to as the Regulator.

Nunat: In orbit just beyond this tiny star is a medium-sized reddish-brown star, called Nunat, which does not produce much visible light, though it does produce energy in the magical spectra.

Daqu: This small sun does occasionally eclipse the third sun, a larger and much brighter yellow-white star known as Daqu that runs around the Regulator on a much wider orbit.

Nunat and Kudanat keep time together, providing a single gravity counterpart to Daqu. Thus, though it is a trinary star system, it behave more like a binary star system. Most intriguing is that these suns have an annual orbit around the Regulator such that Nunat eclipses Daqu in the deepest part of winter.

Inner Bodies
Ralo’on and Z’medi’i: The term “Inner Bodies” refers to the celestial bodies closer to the suns than Arat’, the first of which is a planet about three-quarters the mass and size of Arat’, known as Ralo’on, which has a single moon, called Z’medi’i. These appear from time to time in the sky reflecting the light of Daqu, looking to a naked eye as large stars.

The Children of Z’medi’i: Between these and Arat’ lies a belt of rocky debris that floats in a ring around the Regulator, falling almost exactly half-way between Ralo’on and Arat’. This asteroid belt is referred to as The Children of Z’medi’i and can also be seen in the sky from time to time as a sparkling line.

Arat’ and Moons
Arat’ is a large planet, only one of whose continents, namely Ta-ra in the northern and eastern hemispheres, that we know well. Orbiting Arat’ are 13 moons that function in a surprisingly organized fashion. Each of these moons is full only once in the entire year, each of them becoming full in a different month. They are all approximately the same size, with the exception of Averi, which is larger and actually remains essentially full for 2 consecutive days of the year. The thirteen moons are Taz’iv, Hanai, Felsun, Marai, Averi, Mehe, Dunen, Dolai, Hamaz’, Zatav, Onkat, Navam, and Sutis.

Outer Bodies
This term refers to celestial bodies further from the triple suns than Arat’ and includes two planets and their related moons.

Garden Tomb of Rasud (Pelei, The Garden Tomb, and the moons Zimvai, Lanoi, Dinak): At nearly twice the distance from the sun as Arat’ orbits a planet referred to as Pelei, nestled in a debris cloud called the Garden Tomb of Rasud, which is, in turn, orbited by three large moons, namely Zimvai, Lanoi, and Dinak (who is also known as the Protector of the Garden).

The Shroud (The Shroud, Lezena, and the Micro-Moons): At slightly more than twice this orbit from the suns is located a dark and uninviting cloud of debris known as The Shroud, in the midst of which are located the Planet Lezena and its three rings and 3 micro-moons.

Radical Orbits
This term refers to those bodies that do not orbit the Regulator in a normal function but have extremely long or odd angle orbits.

Long-Orbit Comets
Enzi-Ro’on: The largest of these is a small planetoid known as Enzi-Ro’on, whose orbit likely initiated from a wayward celestial trajectory that intersected our solar system, creating a new orbit around the Regulator that is very long and returns the planetoid to the vicinity of the suns only once every hundred years. Although Enzi-Ro’on has a generally globe-shaped body, its surface is jagged and pitted from the sudden and prolonged evaporation and upheaval that occurs every time it approaches the suns.

Nak-Sal: On an even longer but narrower orbit is the huge comet Nak-Sal, the Swimmer in the Deep Void. This large comet makes a fiery appearance when it approaches the vicinity of Lezena every one thousand years and remains thus in its eighteen year journey to the vicinity of the suns and back out into the deep void, passing all of the bodies of the solar system in the process.

Nuvis, Pront’, Ancer, and Eveli: There are four other long-orbit comets that visit the suns. Nuvis comes but once every 3600 years; Pront’ comes just once in 10,000 years; Ancer visits once every 60 years, but is barely visible without the aid of powerful optics or magic; Eveli has a strangely erratic pattern that varies between 274 and 312 years in its orbit, though it is rarely noticed because its debris does not burn in the sun, earning it the nickname Shadow-Wanderer.

Tetiri’i: The most well-known of comets is the burning body Tetiri’i the Defiant, which orbits the Regulator every 2 years, though on a rakish 45 degrees to the plane of the solar system. This comet can be seen every other year in the night sky above Tara, rising through the spring and setting through the winter, though nearly invisible during the summer and autumn. The term “chasing the setting of Tetiri’i” thus refers to someone venturing into the southern seas in winter to avoid the colder northern weather.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s